Scope and Sequence


Scope and Sequence:  WRTR Program Objectives

The Spalding Scope and Sequence is divided into grade-level spelling, writing, and reading instructional objectives that are introduced, practiced, and in some cases, mastered. Spalding defines an instructional objective as a clear statement of what students should know and/or be able to do at the completion of a learning task.


Every instructional objective has two parts: the content to be learned and the observable and measurable behavior that demonstrates performance.


Scope and Sequence Coding Schema

The following codes are used throughout the scope and sequence to indicate the instructional level to which grade-level skills should be taught and assessed:


Grade-Level Scope and Sequence



First Grade

Second Grade

Third Grade

Fourth Grade

Fifth Grade

 Sixth Grade